14 April 2017
Participation in the informal meeting of the CSTO member states’ leaders
Kyrgyz Republic, Bishkek

The meeting was attended by Serzh Sargsyan, the President of Armenia, Alexander Lukashenko, the President of Belarus, Almazbek Atambayev, the President of Kyrgyzstan, Vladimir Putin, the President of Russia, Emomali Rahmon, the President of Tajikistan, and Valery Semirikov, the acting CSTO Secretary General.

During the informal meeting the heads of the CSTO member states have discussed issues of the organization’s further development, as well as deepening cooperation in the sphere of ensuring security.

Nursultan Nazarbayev noted that the current year is a jubilee for the countries-participants of the Collective Security Treaty Organization.

In this regard, the President of Kazakhstan, congratulating the meeting participants on the 25th anniversary of the Treaty signing, particularly emphasized its importance in ensuring national and regional security, as well as in strengthening the integrity of the participating states.

The head of our state also drew attention to the matters of expanding the zone of interaction between the CSTO and other international institutions and organizations as for security.

In addition, the organization members have considered the possibility of consolidating efforts in the fight against modern regional and global challenges.

At the end of the meeting, the leaders of the participating states appointed Yuri Khachaturov as the Secretary General of the Collective Security Treaty Organization.

All events
Other foreign trips
All site visits